Doug Gruenewald Peer Mentor Scholarship

Apply  for this scholarship  |  Donate to this scholarship

About the scholarship

This scholarship was established in honor of Dr. Doug Gruenewald, the former director of the Learning Communities program who served from 1995 - 2016. Dr. Gruenewald's commitment to enhancing student success was evidenced by his dedication to the development and continued growth of Learning Communities during his 21-year tenure with the program. Doug was an advocate for leadership development among undergraduate students. This scholarship provides additional financial support for student leaders dedicated to helping other students to persist and succeed academically at Iowa State University.

We are pleased to announce the spring 2019 recipients of the Doug Gruenewald Peer Mentor Scholarship
This needs-based scholarship is for undergraduate students who have been hired to work as Learning Community Peer Mentors during the term of the award. 
Four scholarships, each valued in the amount of $500, were granted to the following individuals: 

Spring 2019 Recipients
Anna Fleming,
peer mentor for Animal Science/Dairy Science/Pre-Vet
Christian Hernandez, peer mentor for Leadership through Engineering Academic Diversity (LEAD)
Kyle Jackson, peer mentor for Chemical Engineering
Latavia WIlliams, peer mentor for Psychology 

Congratulations to our spring 2019 recipients!

Past Recipients

Ihssan Ait-Boucherbil (2017)
Keesha Gaines (2017)
Christopher Hernandez (2017)
Celeste Swanson (2017) 
Morgan Bowman (2016)
Erin Elsbernd (2016)
Tatum Gilman (2016)
David Mena (2016)

To apply for this scholarship

Financially-eligible Learning Community peer mentors must submit a completed scholarship application form, along with a recommendation form to be completed by the learning community coordinator, by the specified due date provided each year. Scholarship application information will be sent to eligible peer mentors directly via ISU OneApp. Scholarship applications are reviewed by an independent panel and awardees will be announced in early spring 2019.

Donations for this scholarship can be made through the ISU Foundation.
If you are an Iowa State employee, please note that it is possible to set up an automatic deduction for your donation. 
If interested in this option, please download this faculty/staff form to donate.

If you have questions concerning the scholarship process, please call or email Jen Leptien, 515-294-1948,